Becoming a local again

I’d be lying if I said that when I initially considered the prospect of moving back to Virginia Beach I dreaded it. All I could think about was how small the area felt and how suburban life would suffocate me. It sounds dramatic, but that’s how I felt when I left Virginia for Los Angeles. I was so disappointed about moving home that I spent months hiding out and sulking. After being forced coerced to join the rest of the world, I realized that I could either whine about being home or make the best of it. Keep in mind, I have in my DNA the ability to be a champion whiner. However, I decided that it would be more beneficial and fun to make the best of my situation.

I’m on a mission to rediscover this area and its charms. This means attending festivals and frequenting local restaurants and bars. I’m trying to see this area with a fresh perspective. It helps that I have a few new local friends {Waves “hi” to Michelle, Nay, Darius, Charley F., Ron, Jacqui, James, Jini, and Matt} and some old friends {Waves “hi” to Neleh, Jay Mc, Rosie, Jen S., Kipp, Jodi, and Brandon}. These folks have kept me company on my exploits. Luckily for me, as the temperature rises, the more events there are. And the more I go out, the more I realize that perhaps being back home isn’t as bad as I originally thought.

Here are a few photos from the first of many local events.

May 1, 2010
Art | Everywhere Opening

From the Art | Everywhere website:

For eight remarkable weeks, empty storefront windows along Granby Street in Downtown Norfolk will be transformed by art. The corridor will be one monumental gallery. The windows and facades of vacant properties will be the walls.

Imagine a Granby Street with no empty store windows, with no boarded-up buildings, but instead a series of large-canvas public art projects that garner national attention. Imagine a Downtown Norfolk celebrated for its color, vibrancy, energy, and support of the arts.

May 9, 2010
3rd Annual AT&T Spring Town Point Virginia Wine Festival

From the Spring Wine Festival website:
.. the Elizabeth River …a blissful afternoon in early May… sipping and swirling a glass of Virginia Wine! It’s the only way to celebrate spring and close the door on winter! The Spring Town Point Virginia Wine Festival, features over 20 premier Virginia wineries, gourmet foods, specialty wares for purchase, and incredible music to complement the perfect spring afternoon. All wines presented during the festival are available for purchase by the bottle or the case throughout the day.

One thought on “Becoming a local again

  1. I think it is a shame that this area (and VB in particular) does not understand the value of preserving those things that are unique and local. The destruction of Laskin road and the removal of Heritage and the Jewish Mother are a perfect example. Norfolk gets it right -kinda-; Granby Street is about as close to a real live city as I’ve seen here.

    Also, you were at the Wine Festival?! So were we!

Leave a Reply

