Johnny Cupcakes pops by Virginia Beach

April 5, 2010

It’s not a secret that I am a t-shirts and Pumas girl. Although, I don’t like just any t-shirt. I prefer shirts with cheeky statements or have a design aesthetic. One of my favorite t-shirt designers is Johnny Cupcakes. I discovered the brand when they opened their store in Los Angeles on Melrose. Instantly, I was enamored with their clever designs.

With their mission statement, I was instantly hooked.

From the Johnny Cupcakes website:

Customers like and appreciate the story and work ethic behind my brand. I started this as a joke from the trunk of my beat up ’89 Toyota Camry. A college drop out with a drug and alcohol-free lifestyle, I never wasted my time going out and partying but instead focused only on brainstorming and sketching up my wacky ideas. I turned down investors and took countless risks like keeping my shirts out of chain stores.

Yeah, once I became better known I could have made a TON of money real quick, but instead I chose quality over quantity.

I’d rather have a strong brand filled with knowledgeable customers who truly enjoy and appreciate what I’ve created instead of making a quick buck– being just another fad… {section omitted by blog writer}

I hang out with my customers, talk to them, and build memorable experiences with them at my in-store events and through the little details that I put into everything. Paying attention to my customers and treating them as individuals just makes sense to me– I wouldn’t be here without them!

I was a big fan of the brand and frequented the L.A. Store. However, I never got to meet the man behind the brand. One way or another, I always missed him by a few minutes. This was disappointing since his employees had always said that Johnny loves meeting his customers and fans. Once I moved away from L.A., I thought I’d never have an opportunity to meet Johnny…

That is until he announced he was doing a Suitcase Tour. The tour had a stop in Virginia Beach! Who would have thought it?

I dragged Nate, Cathee and the nephews Franky & Ethan to Just Cupcakes to the Suitcase Tour Pop-up Shop.

The line to buy shirts was an ungodly length. As much as I wanted some new shirts, I was more interested in meeting Johnny. Fortunately for me, the line to meet Johnny was short. At best, I was hoping he’d sign a limited edition L.A. Johnny Cupcakes shirt for me… which he did.

iPhone picture

Johnny exceeded my expectations. Not only did he sign my shirt, he conversed with us for 10-15 minutes. He was very forthcoming about his design process, where he saw his company going, working with his family within his company, and how much he loved what he does.

Our conversation was captured on the Johnny Cupcake highlight video.

For those that don’t want to watch the whole video, here’s some screen shots.

After our conversation, he did a magic trick for the nephews.

Needless to say, after this experience I’m an even bigger fan of the brand and will be buying more shirts. 😉

A few more of my photos from the Johnny Cupcakes Suitcase Tour can also be found on

Here’s a link to the AltDaily post.

Leave a Reply

