Away we go!

Odometer ReadingFor my move to Los Angeles to Virginia Beach, my best friend Cicely and I decided that now was as good a time as any to take a mini-vacation. Instead of having my car shipped, we decided to drive it across the country.

My clean and very full car at the beginning of our trip

We spent the night at my Aunt & Uncle’s home in Orange County. I spent my first night in California in their home. It seemed fitting that I would spend my last night in California with my Aunt, Uncle and Cousins. They have a very special place in my heart. It was because of their love and support that I made the leap to move to Southern California. They gave me a place to stay while I got on my feet and supported me through many difficult times. It goes without saying that I will miss them terribly.

Cicely and I before we hit the road

We left Orange County and headed for Phoenix…

My Hello Kitty driving mascot

Cicely's Driving Mascot

… and we got distracted along the way.

Of course, I tried to take some photos from the car.
We were supposed to stay in Phoenix with some old friends of Cicely’s, but unfortunately they didn’t return our calls. We were running a tad late and I guess it was a little too late. So, we are resting at a Motel 6. It’s very modern. I think they’re going for minimalist with burlap sheets. I know, I know… We are splurging on some luxury accommodations.

Of course, our little snafu is easily remedied…

I'm trying to make the best of our luxury hotel

Cicely's Elixir

I’m off to bed. Tomorrow is going to be our longest day of driving.

3 thoughts on “Away we go!

  1. It’s probably really boring at times but when I think of doing a cross country road trip with my best friend I think of how much fun it must be too. Hope you two have a great time! Drive safe.

Leave a Reply

