Farewell, L.A.

photo by Flickr user chbu

I’m writing the post that I’ve been wanting to write, but never thought I would ever write. This is my “goodbye” to Los Angeles. After 7 years of struggling and surviving here, it’s time for me to go.  This is my last night in my tiny cottage in the city.

Being here has taught me so much about myself. I discovered that I am a city girl and have probably always been one.  I learned that I could do so much on my own and that I am highly adaptable. I arrived as naïve suburban gal from VA. I leave as a worldly urbanite.

Despite some of the negative things I’ve said, I will miss this place. I advanced my career and launched my design business here. I fell in love with Rob, got married and sadly divorced here. I rescued and raised my first puppy Dottie here.

I will especially miss:

  • The weather.
    The temps have been in the 80s the last couple of days. I’ve been walking around in flip-flops… in February!
  • The variety of restaurants
    The number of ethnic restaurants has been mind-boggling. In a single day, I can have Mexican, Japanese, and Argentinean food. I’m sure my waistline will thank me for the move.
  • Creative resources
    For any number of creative projects, I can find the raw materials. Fabric? I can find obscure prints at reasonable prices. Paper? You name it. I’ll find it. Oh the Flower Mart! I shall miss the Flower Mart.
  • The Great Outdoors
    I didn’t get to enjoy it as much as I would have liked, but I will miss the foothills and the nearby mountains.
  • Dottie
    I cannot say it enough, but I will really miss my girl. I watched her grow up and can’t believe she was once a tiny puppy that once fit in a beanie hat. Cold winter nights are not going to be the same without her.

As sad as I am, I know that this is not the end. It’s only the beginning of my next adventure and L.A. can go back to being a really fun place to vacation.

One thought on “Farewell, L.A.

Leave a Reply

