Portrait of a Lady

CIMG3400
Photo taken by Cicely

I had mentioned in my Piper post that I was working my way up to people portraits. On Sunday, I dipped my toes back into the water. Aside from taking photos of Willie and Cicely together, I wanted to take some portraits of Cicely. She’d recently lost a significant amount of weight and deserved to have photographs that celebrated her success. Not to mention, she tried to do some self-portraits and they did not do her any justice at all. {They were bad, really bad}

It was a beautiful day. It was sunny and warm and a tad bit breezier than I would like. You’ll see why in a bit. We headed off to Memorial Park after a very late Brunch. The place was packed. So, we found a less traveled area on the fringe of the park.

It took me a bit to get warmed up. I had forgotten how to pose people. Thankfully, she was very patient. I didn’t get as many good shots as I would have liked since I forgot my flash and my reflectors. {Doh!} Most of my portraits were taken with natural light and some on camera flash usage for fill.

Here are a few of my favorites:

DSC_3362

DSC_3373

DSC_3400

DSC_3403

DSC_3407

While I had the tripod out, we decided to take some portraits together. We’ve been friends for nearly 10 years, but don’t have any decent photos together. I had my trusty new remote. I thought it would be simple. What ensued was pure comedy. Trying to figure out how to flatteringly pose myself turned out to be a Herculean feat. I would setup the shot, position myself, trigger the remote, and run to check how the photo turned out. Lest I forget, all this had my color commentary, which kept Cicely entertained. Most of these photos turned out like cheesetastic, High School friendship pictures. I did get one frameable photo. So, I won’t complain too loudly. For laughs and in the spirit of honesty in artistry, here are some of the photos of us together.

CicelyAnne

DSC_3398_fb

AnneCicely_fb

DSC_3421

DSC_3441

DSC_3457

Before anyone asks, yes, it really was that windy. I didn’t not bring a wind machine with us on the shoot. I got some workable shots, but I definitely need some practice. Any volunteers?
4 thoughts on “Portrait of a Lady

  1. The shots where the sunlight is directly shining through the trees are great. I think this is an awesome thing to add to the “stuff I do with my best friend” list.

  2. cosign on errthang Brit said! y’all are some pretty ladies… get on witcha bad selves (and ya pocket fans, lol).

  3. I love the pics of you two together. Wish I could squeeze myself in the middle lol. Oh and you know you two carry around a fan to blow your hair all sexily!

Leave a Reply

