A Low-key Valentine

IMGP0157

Please excuse the cheesy greeting above. Rob snapped that photo of Dottie earlier today and I couldn’t resist putting a goofy thought bubble in it.

It’s a Recessionista’s Valentine Celebration. To be practical, we made dinner at home and watched DVDs in lieu of going out. No fanfare, No gifts. Rob made a pre-Valentine dinner. (Friday Night). Here’s what Rob made…

DSC_2623
Negimaki filled with Red Bell Pepper and Baby Asparagus
served with Vegetable Gyozas and Brown Rice

I made tonight’s dinner. I cannot bake to save my life, but I can actually cook. I just don’t choose to cook most of the time. {If you had a husband that could cook like mine, would you cook?} Here’s what I made.

DSC_2624
Herb-Crusted Broiled Salmon served with
Wilted Spinach Salad with Oven-roasted Cherry Tomatoes and Chickpeas

Geez… We are becoming a fat, boring married couple. Hope your Valentine’s Day was fun.
4 thoughts on “A Low-key Valentine

  1. Ummm, both dinners look AMAZING! Wow, I’m so impressed. We switched it up this Valentine’s Day, too. Instead of our normal “let’s have a fancy dinner and thrown down too much money” V-day, we opted for a quiet evening at home with a few small gifts. I really loved it. If that is a sign we are old farts, oh well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

